## **Advisory Committee on Juvenile Justice and Prevention**



#### WebEx

(special meeting being held virtually for the sole purpose of addressing time-sensitive business, namely, grant approval)

https://covaconf.webex.com/covaconf/j.php?MTID=m497d4d1e8cfd15e4487226ac1958ffe3

# Draft Minutes Wednesday April 15, 2020

**Members Present** 

Marilyn Brown

Ngan Bui

Lorenzo Collins

John Dougherty

Keith Farmer, **Chair** 

Anthony Jackson

Shelly Baker-Scott

Samuel Perez

**Elaine Williams** 

Morgan Faulkner

Alana Corn

Julie McConnell, Vice-Chair

Kim Gretes (for Dave Johnson)

Malcolm King (for DBHDS)

Maribel Samire (for DOE)

Toni Randall

Linda McWilliams (for DJJ)

Amy Woolard

**Paul Taylor** 

Lawrence Webb

Niyah White

Rick White

**Members Absent** 

Sen. Bryce Reeves

Del. Christopher T. Head

Nancy Campos

James Gong

Victoria Baldwin

### **DCJS Staff Present**

Greg Hopkins, Juvenile Justice Specialist
Ed Holmes, Juvenile Justice Program Analyst
Laurel Marks, Manager, Juvenile and Child Welfare Section
Ken Stables, Compliance Monitoring Specialist
Melissa O'Neill, Statewide CASA Program Coordinator

Call to Order: This meeting was called to order by Keith Farmer at 10:15am

Introduction of Members: Keith Farmer asked all in attendance to introduce themselves.

#### **Approval of Minutes**

The January 23, 2020, meeting minutes were reviewed. A motion was made by Lorenzo Collins to approve the minutes. Amy Woolard seconded the motion, and the minutes were approved unanimously.

#### Title II Grants

Ed Holmes and Greg Hopkins presented summaries of sixteen new and one continuation Title II grants for the committee to review. Eleven of the sixteen new Title II grants along with the one continuation grant were recommended for funding. A motion was made by Julie McConnell to approve a total of twelve awards totaling \$675,088 in Title II program funds to the full Criminal Justice Services Board. Lawrence Webb seconded the motion. Recusals: Marilyn Brown from the Chesterfield County proposal and Paul Taylor from the Hopewell proposal. The motion passed.

#### **Public Comment**

There was no public comment during this meeting.

#### Adjournment

Lorenzo Collins made the motion to adjourn; Malcom King seconded the motion. The motion to adjourn was approved unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 10:57am.

\*A roll call vote was sent subsequent to the meeting to capture each member vote